Cho Quan Church (Vietnamese: Nhà thờ Chợ Quán, Official name: Church of the Sacred Heart of Jesus) is a Catholic church in Ho Chi Minh City, belonging to Cho Quan parish. The church has a combination of Gothic architecture and Roman architecture. It is the oldest church in Ho Chi Minh City. It was established in 1722 and was rebuilt many times, the present church was inaugurated in 1896.
Cho Quan parish was founded in 1722, is the oldest parish of Ho Chi Minh City Archdiocese. Truong Vinh Ky, a Vietnamese scholar, said that the first parishioners were immigrants from Hue. By 1725, the parish had about 300 Catholics. Cho Quan became a center to welcome people from Central Vietnam. The parish’s first chapel was built in 1674. In 1723, Jesuit priest Emmanuel Quitaon came to preach and converted the chapel into a church. Cho Quan church was rebuilt many times, in the years 1727, 1733, 1793, 1862, 1882. In 1882, Vicar Priest Nicolaas Hamm started constructing a big church. This work lasted for 14 years, spent six vicars times until 1896. The church was inaugurated in 1896 and has survived now.
The architecture of Cho Quan Church is the combination between Gothic style and Roman style. The majestic church bell tower with 4 cube-shaped floors and 1 top is pyramid shaped with a cross. The 3rd floor has 5 bronze bells. All doors and windows of the church are high, receiving outside light and air easily (This is the characteristic of Gothic architecture). Their peaks have semicircular looking soft (This is the characteristic of Roman architecture). The church roof is covered with a red color and the tilt of the roof is moderate, all look simple and peaceful. The wall of the church has a light yellow color that softens the eyes.
In the space for believers, the most striking is the two rows of strong high big columns. Columns linked together with arc-shaped peaks. The dome is divided into many curved and pointed parts, having the special Gothic architecture style. In Saint Palace, in the center, the above is the statue of Jesus Christ suffering on the cross. Christ suffered to receive crimes of human beings. Looking at the statue, anybody is also heartbroken. On the left of the statue of Jesus Christ is the statue of Maria Mother. On the right is Saint Joseph. In particular, in front of the statue of Blessed Mother has the tomb of Father Nicola Hamm. The tomb reminds us of a father who offered whole his life surve human beings.
Weekdays: 5:00, 17:30
Sunday: 5:00, 6:30, 8:00, 16:30, 18:00